Genevieve Gergis of Bestia

Genevieve Gergis of Bestia. The Arts District establishment collected awards for Best Restaurant, Best Dinner, Best Italian and Best Farm to Table-esque Restaurant.

 

Thousands of residents and workers voted in the Downtown News' Best of DTLA reader's choice awards, with categories including restaurants, entertainment and services. Here are the results:   

 BEST AMERICAN CUISINE

1ST PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

2ND PLACE: Nickel Diner, 524 S. Main St., nickeldiner.com

3RD PLACE: Clifton’s Republic, 648 S. Broadway, cliftonsla.com

 BEST ASIAN FUSION

1ST PLACE: Wokcano, 800 W. Seventh St., wokcanorestaurant.com

2ND PLACE: Little Sister, 523 W. Seventh St., littlesisterla.com

3RD PLACE: Chaya Downtown, 525 S. Flower St., thechaya.com

 BEST GELATO

1ST PLACE: Gelateria Uli, 541 S. Spring St., gelateriauli.com

2ND PLACE: Pazzo Gelato, 735 S. Figueroa St., pazzogelato.net

3RD PLACE: Café Ugo, 502 W. Sixth St., cafeugo.com

 BEST ICE CREAM/YOGURT

1ST PLACE: Salt & Straw, 829 E. Third St., saltandstraw.com

2ND PLACE: McConnell’s Fine Ice Cream, 317 S. Broadway, mcconnells.com

3RD PLACE: Yogurtland, 1607 Wilshire Blvd., yogurt-land.com

 BEST BAKERY/DESSERTS

1ST PLACE: The Pie Hole, 714 Traction Ave., thepieholela.com

2ND PLACE: Sprinkles, 735 S. Figueroa St., sprinkles.com

3RD PLACE: Big Man Bakes, 413 S. Main St., bigmanbakes.com

 

+5 
BEST CAJUN: Little Jewel of New Orleans

BEST CAJUN: Little Jewel of New Orleans

BEST CAJUN

1ST PLACE: Little Jewel of New Orleans, 207 Ord St., littlejewel.la

2ND PLACE: Little Easy, 216 W. Fifth St., littleeasybar.com

3RD PLACE: Preux and Proper, 840 S. Spring St., preuxandproper.com

 BEST CHINESE

1ST PLACE (TIE): Yang Chow, 819 N. Broadway, yangchow.com

New Moon, 102 W. Ninth St., newmoonrestaurants.com

3RD PLACE: Peking Tavern, 806 S. Spring St., pekingtavern.com

 BEST DIM SUM

1ST PLACE: Golden Dragon, 960 N. Broadway

2ND PLACE: Ocean Seafood, 750 N. Hill St., oceanseafoodchinatown.com

 BEST FARM TO TABLE-ESQUE

1ST PLACE: Bestia, 2121 E. Seventh Place, bestiala.com

2ND PLACE: Tender Greens, 505 W. Sixth St., tendergreens.com

3RD PLACE: Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar, 350 S. Grand Ave., bluecowkitchen.com

 BEST FRENCH

1ST PLACE: Le Petit Paris, 418 S. Spring St., lepetitparisla.com

2ND PLACE (TIE): Church & State, 1850 Industrial St., churchandstatebistro.com

Perch, 448 S. Hill St., perchla.com

 BEST GASTROPUB

1ST PLACE: Library Bar, 630 W. Sixth St., librarybarla.com

2ND PLACE: Sixth Street Tavern, 630 W. Sixth St., sixthstreettavern.com

3RD PLACE: Barcito, 403 W. 12th St., barcitola.com

 BEST INDIAN

1ST PLACE: Saffron Indian Cuisine, 505 S. Flower St., 300 S. Grand Ave., saffronindia.com

2ND PLACE: Gill’s Cuisine of India, 838 S. Grand Ave., gillsrestaurant.com

3RD PLACE: Indus by Saffron, 735 S. Figueroa St., saffronindia.com

 BEST ITALIAN

1ST PLACE: Bestia, 2121 E. Seventh Place, bestiala.com

2ND PLACE: Maccheroni Republic, 332 S. Broadway, maccheronirepublic.com

3RD PLACE: Colori Kitchen, 429 W. Eighth St., colorikitchen.com

 BEST JAPANESE

1ST PLACE: Shabu Shabu House, 127 Japanese Village Plaza

2ND PLACE: Takami Sushi & Robata Restaurant, 811 Wilshire Blvd., takamisushi.com

3RD PLACE: Ramen Hood, 317 S. Broadway, ramenhoodla.com

 BEST SUSHI

1ST PLACE: Sugarfish, 600 W. Seventh St., sugarfishsushi.com

2ND PLACE: Sushi Gen, 422 E. Second St., sushigen-dtla.com

3RD PLACE (TIE): Kazunori, 421 S. Main St., kazunorisushi.com

Sushi Go 55, 333 S. Alameda St., facebook.com/sushigo55

 BEST POKE

1ST PLACE: Ohana Poke, 735 S. Figueroa St., ohanapokeco.com

2ND PLACE: Okipoki, 507 S. Spring St., okipokila.com

3RD PLACE: Poke Express by Honda-Ya, 316 E. Second St., izakayahondaya.com

 BEST KOREAN

1ST PLACE: Manna Korean BBQ, 333 S. Alameda St., mannabbq.com

2ND PLACE: Seoul Sausage Co., 236 S. Los Angeles St., seoulsausage.com

3RD PLACE: Korean Kitchen Hibachi Barbeque, 135 Japanese Village Plaza

 BEST LATIN AMERICAN

1ST PLACE: Border Grill, 445 S. Figueroa St., bordergrill.com

2ND PLACE: Guisados, 541 S. Spring St., 1261 Sunset Blvd., guisados.co

3RD PLACE: El Cholo, 1037 S. Flower St., elcholo.com

 BEST MEDITERRANEAN

1ST PLACE: George’s Greek Grill, 350 S. Grand Ave., 445 S. Figueroa St., 735 S. Figueroa St., georgesgreek.com

2ND PLACE: Papa Cristo’s, 2771 W. Pico Blvd., papacristos.com

3RD PLACE: Spitz, 371 E. Second St., eatatspitz.com

 BEST MIDDLE EASTERN

1ST PLACE: California Kabob Kitchen, 141 W. 11th St., ckkabob.com

2ND PLACE: Shekarchi, 914 S. Hill St., shekarchirestaurant.com

3RD PLACE: Sultan Restaurant, 311 W. Sixth St., sultanchicken.com

 BEST SEAFOOD

1ST PLACE: Water Grill, 544 S. Grand Ave., watergrill.com

2ND PLACE: Fisherman’s Outlet, 529 S. Central Ave., fishermansoutlet.com

3RD PLACE: Rock’N’Fish, 800 W. Olympic Blvd., la.rocknfishrestaurants.com

 BEST STEAKHOUSE

1ST PLACE: Morton’s The Steakhouse, 735 S. Figueroa St., mortons.com

2ND PLACE: Pacific Dining Car, 1310 W. Sixth St., pacificdiningcar.com

3RD PLACE: Nick & Stef’s Steakhouse, 330 S. Hope St., patinagroup.com/nick-and-stefs-steakhouse-la

 BEST THAI

1ST PLACE: Sticky Rice, 317 S. Broadway, grandcentralmarket.com

2ND PLACE: So Long, Hi, 518 W. Seventh St.

3RD PLACE: E-Sea Fresh Restaurant, 1100 N. Main St.

 BEST VEGAN/VEGETARIAN FRIENDLY

1ST PLACE: Café Gratitude, 300 S. Santa Fe. Ave., cafegratitude.com

2ND PLACE: Zinc Cafe, 580 Mateo St., zinccafe.com

3RD PLACE (TIE): Blossom, 426 S. Main St., blossomrestaurant.com

Homegirl Restaurant, 130 Bruno St., homeboyindustries.org

+5 
Charles Olalia of Ricebar

When preparing Thanksgiving dinner, suggests Charles Olalia of Ricebar, break down the tasks and do as much as possible in advance. Also, he advises paying for a great turkey and great ingredients, rather than what’s on sale. 

 BEST FILIPINO

1ST PLACE: Ricebar, 419 W. Seventh St., ricebarla.com

2ND PLACE: The Park’s Finest, 1267 W. Temple St., theparksfinest.com

3RD PLACE: Lasa, 727 N. Broadway, lasa-la.com

 BEST VIETNAMESE

1ST PLACE: Blossom, 426 S. Main St., blossomrestaurant.com

2ND PLACE: Pho 87, 1019 N. Broadway

3RD PLACE: Pho La Downtown, 934 S. Los Angeles St. 

 BEST BURGER

1ST PLACE: Umami Burger, 852 S. Broadway, 738 E. Third St., umamiburger.com

2ND PLACE: The Counter, 725 W. Seventh St., thecounter.com

3RD PLACE: Plan Check, 1111 Wilshire Blvd., plancheck.com

 BEST CREPES

1ST PLACE: Crepes Sans Frontieres, 541 S. Spring St., crepessansfrontieres.com

2ND PLACE: Crepe Xpress, 529 W. Sixth St.

 BEST CUPCAKES

1ST PLACE: Sprinkles, 735 W. Seventh St., sprinkles.com

2ND PLACE: Big Man Bakes, 413 S. Main St., bigmanbakes.com

 BEST MAC N’ CHEESE

1ST PLACE [TIE]: Nickel Diner, 524 S. Main St., nickeldiner.com

Church & State, 1850 Industrial St., churchandstatebistro.com

3RD PLACE: The Pie Hole, 714 Traction Ave., thepieholela.com

 BEST PIZZA

1ST PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

2ND PLACE: California Pizza Kitchen, 735 S. Figueroa St., cpk.com

3RD PLACE: Pizzanista!, 2019 E. Seventh St., pizzanista.com 

 BEST RAMEN SPOT

1ST PLACE: Daikokuya, 327 E. First St., dkramen.com 

2ND PLACE: Ramen Hood, 317 S. Broadway, ramenhoodla.com

3RD PLACE: Mr. Ramen, 341 E. First St., mrramen.menutoeat.com 

 BEST SANDWICH/WRAP

1ST PLACE: Mendocino Farms, 300 S. Grand Ave., 444 S. Flower St., 735 S. Figueroa St., mendocinofarms.com

2ND PLACE: Philippe The Original, 1001 N. Alameda St., philippes.com

3RD PLACE: Langer’s Delicatessen, 704 S. Alvarado St., langersdeli.com

+5 
BEST SAUSAGE: Wurstküche

BEST SAUSAGE: Wurstküche

 BEST SAUSAGE

1ST PLACE: Wurstküche, 800 E. Third St., wurstkuche.com

2ND PLACE: Seoul Sausage Co., 236 S. Los Angeles St., seoulsausage.com

 BEST RESTAURANT 

1ST PLACE: Bestia, 2121 E. Seventh Pl., bestiala.com

2ND PLACE: Redbird, 114 E. Second St., redbird.la

3RD PLACE: Broken Spanish, 1050 S. Flower St., brokenspanish.com

 BEST NEW RESTAURANT

1ST PLACE: 71Above, 633 W. Fifth St., 71above.com

2ND PLACE: Howlin’ Ray’s, 727 N. Broadway, howlinrays.com

3RD PLACE: Sonoratown, 208 E. Eighth St., sonoratownla.com

 BEST FINE DINING

1ST PLACE [tie]: Morton’s The Steakhouse, 735 W. Seventh St., mortons.com

Redbird, 114 E. Second St., redbird.la

3RD PLACE: Water Grill, 544 S. Grand Ave., watergrill.com

 BEST BREAKFAST

1ST PLACE: Eggslut, 317 S. Broadway, eggslut.com

2ND PLACE: The Original Pantry Café, 877 S. Figueroa St., pantrycafe.com

3RD PLACE: Nickel Diner, 524 S. Main St., nickeldiner.com

 BEST BRUNCH

1ST PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

2ND PLACE: Perch, 448 S. Hill St., perchla.com 

3RD PLACE: Border Grill, 445 S. Figueroa St., bordergrill.com

 BEST LUNCH

1ST PLACE: Le Petit Paris, 418 S. Spring St., lepetitparisla.com

2ND PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

3RD PLACE: Langer’s Delicatessen, 704 S. Alvarado St., langersdeli.com

 BEST BUSINESS LUNCH

1ST PLACE: Le Petit Paris, 418 S. Spring St., lepetitparisla.com

2ND PLACE: The Palm, 1100 S. Flower St., thepalm.com

3RD PLACE: Sugarfish, 600 W. Seventh St., sugarfishsushi.com

 BEST DINNER

1ST PLACE: Bestia, 2121 E. Seventh Pl., bestiala.com

2ND PLACE: Morton’s The Steakhouse, 735 W. Seventh St., mortons.com

3RD PLACE: Maccheroni Republic, 332 S. Broadway, maccheronirepublic.com

 BEST DOG FRIENDLY RESTAURANT

1ST PLACE: Urth Caffé, 451 S. Hewitt St., urthcaffe.com

2ND PLACE: Panini Cafe, 600 W. Ninth St., mypaninicafe.com

3RD PLACE: Wurstküche, 800 E. Third St., wurstkuche.com

 BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

1ST PLACE: Guisados, 541 S. Spring St., 1261 Sunset Blvd., guisados.co

2ND PLACE: Philippe The Original, 1001 N. Alameda St., philippes.com

3RD PLACE: Mendocino Farms, 300 S. Grand Ave., 444 S. Flower St., 735 S. Figueroa St., mendocinofarms.com

 BEST DOWNTOWN CLASSIC

1ST PLACE: Philippe The Original, 1001 N. Alameda St., philippes.com

2ND PLACE: The Original Pantry Café, 877 S. Figueroa St., pantrycafe.com

3RD PLACE: Nick’s Cafe, 1300 N. Spring St., nickscafela.net

 BEST PLACE TO BREAK BREAD WITH FRIENDS

1ST PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

2ND PLACE: Border Grill, 445 S. Figueroa St., bordergrill.com

3RD PLACE: Artisan House, 600 S. Main St., artisanhouse.net

 BEST AMBIANCE

1ST PLACE: Le Petit Paris, 418 S. Spring St., lepetitparisla.com

2ND PLACE: Perch, 448 S. Hill St., perchla.com 

3RD PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

 BEST DOWNTOWN VIEW

1ST PLACE: Perch, 448 S. Hill St., perchla.com 

2ND PLACE: 71Above, 633 W. Fifth St., 71above.com

3RD PLACE: Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., bottegalouie.com

+5 
BEST RESTAURANT DECOR: Faith + Flower

BEST RESTAURANT DECOR: Faith + Flower

 BEST RESTAURANT DECOR

1ST PLACE: Faith + Flower, 705 W. Ninth St., faithandflowerla.com

2ND PLACE: Redbird, 114 E. Second St., redbird.la

3RD PLACE: Cicada, 617 S. Olive St., cicadarestaurant.com

+5 
BEST OUTDOOR DINING, BEST VIEW: Perch

BEST OUTDOOR DINING, BEST VIEW: Perch

 BEST OUTDOOR DINING

1ST PLACE: Perch, 448 S. Hill St., perchla.com 

2ND PLACE: Border Grill, 445 S. Figueroa St., bordergrill.com

3RD PLACE: Urth Caffé, 451 S. Hewitt St., urthcaffe.com

 BEST DINING HUB

1ST PLACE: Grand Central Market, 317 S. Broadway, grandcentralmarket.com

2ND PLACE: L.A. Live, 800 W. Olympic Blvd., lalive.com

3RD PLACE: Taste at FIGat7th, 735 S. Figueroa St., figat7th.com

 BEST TASTE AT FIGAT7TH EATERY

1ST PLACE: Mendocino Farms, 735 S. Figueroa St., mendocinofarms.com

2ND PLACE: Loteria Grill, 735 S. Figueroa St., loteriagrill.com

3RD PLACE: The Melt, 735 S. Figueroa St., themelt.com

 BEST GRAND CENTRAL MARKET EATERY

1ST PLACE: Eggslut, 317 S. Broadway, eggslut.com

2ND PLACE: Wexler’s Deli, 317 S. Broadway, wexlersdeli.com

3RD PLACE: Sticky Rice, 317 S. Broadway, grandcentralmarket.com

 BEST L.A. LIVE RESTAURANT

1ST PLACE: Yard House, 800 W. Olympic Blvd., yardhouse.com

2ND PLACE: Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse, 800 W. Olympic Blvd., flemingssteakhouse.com

3RD PLACE: Katsuya, 800 W. Olympic Blvd., katsuyarestaurant.com

 BEST HOTEL RESTAURANT

1ST PLACE: LA Chapter-Ace Hotel, 927 S. Broadway, lachapter.com

2ND PLACE: WP24-Ritz Carlton, 900 W. Olympic Blvd., wolfgangpuck.com

3RD PLACE: LA Prime-Westin Bonaventure, 404 S. Figueroa St., thebonaventure.com

 BEST RESTAURANT SERVICE

1ST PLACE: Border Grill, 445 S. Figueroa St., bordergrill.com

2ND PLACE: Prank Bar, 1100 S. Hope St., prankbar.com

3RD PLACE (Tie): Preux & Proper, 840 S. Spring St., preuxandproper.com

Maccheroni Republic, 332 S. Broadway, maccheronirepublic.com

 BEST RESTAURANT DELIVERY

1ST PLACE: L.A. Café, 639 S. Spring St., thelacafe.com

2ND PLACE: California Pizza Kitchen, 735 S. Figueroa St., cpk.com

3RD PLACE: Mitaki, 630 W. Sixth St., mitakirestaurants.com

 BEST RESTAURANT QUICK SERVE

1ST PLACE: L.A. Cafe, 639 S. Spring St., thelacafe.com

2ND PLACE: Guisados, 541 S. Spring St., 1261 Sunset Blvd., guisados.co

3RD PLACE: Kachi, 1055 W. Wilshire Blvd., kachidelicafe.com

© Los Angeles Downtown News 2017